Watson

ANNUAL MEETING 15 May 2017

LOCAL GOVERNMENT & HOUSING ACT 1989 – PROPORTIONAL REPRESENTATION

ARRANGEMENTS – REGULATORY & OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEES 2017/2018

- a) In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 2.3 (i) the following Regulatory and Overview and Scrutiny Committees of the Council be constituted for the ensuing year:
 - Audit and Standards Committee
 - Licensing and General Purposes Committee
 - Overview and Scrutiny Committee
 - Planning Committee
 - Planning Urgency Sub-Committee
- b) In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 2.3 (ii) the terms of reference for the Regulatory and Overview and Scrutiny Committees and the scheme of delegation, be as set out within Articles 6 and 8 and "Part 3 Responsibility for Functions" of the Constitution.
- c) In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 2.3 (ii) and (iii) the membership of Political Groups and the allocation of seats to serve on each Committee be as follows:

Membership

CONSERVATIVE (31) C

Lord Ampthill J.M. Johnson Elford Azad Elliston Kentfield J.Barnes Ganly Kenward Kirby-Green M.L Barnes George Bird Graham Maynard Hart Browne Mooney Hollidge J.J. Carroll Osborne R.C. Carroll Hughes Potts **Jenkins** Curtis Saint G.P. Johnson Douart Stevens

LIBERAL DEMOCRAT (3) LD

Dixon Field Prochak

ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENTS (3) AoI

Earl

Earl-Williams

Oliver

INDEPENDENT MEMBER FOR St MICHAELS WARD, BEXHILL (1)

Clark

Allocation of Seats

d) At the last Annual Council meeting, Council did not agree to allocate the nongroup Member, Councillor Clark a seat on any committee by dis-applying the proportional representation requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. Should Council be minded to allocate a seat to Councillor Clark this year, Option A below, should be considered and voted thereon and a nem con vote passed. Should this fail, Option B will be the allocation.

e)
OPTION A – NEM CON REQUIRED

Committees	<u>C</u>	<u>LD</u>	<u>Aol</u>	IND Member
Audit and Standards (8)	6	1	1	0
Planning (14)	12	1	1	0
Licensing & General Purposes (12)	10	1	1	0
OSC (12)	9	1	1	1

OPTION B - NEM CON NOT REQUIRED

Committees	<u>C</u>	<u>LD</u>	<u>Aol</u>	IND Member
Audit and Standards (8)	6	1	1	0
Planning (14)	12	1	1	0
Licensing & General Purposes (12)	10	1	1	0
OSC (12)	10	1	1	0

Committee Membership

Audit and Standards Committee - 8 members

(Options A /B - 6xC, 1xLD, 1xAoI)

<u>C</u>		<u>LD</u>	<u>Aol</u>
Azad	R.C. Carroll	Dixon	Earl
J Barnes	Graham		
Bird	Mooney		

Planning Committee – 14 Members

(Options A / B - 12xC, 1xLD, 1xAoI)

	<u>C</u>	<u>LD</u>	<u>Aol</u>
Azad	Graham	Prochak	Earl-Williams
Curtis	Hughes		
Douart	J Johnson		
Elliston	Kentfield		

UPDATED 15 MAY 2017

Ganly Stevens George Watson

Licensing & General Purposes Committee – 12 Members

(Options A / B - 10xC, 1xLD, 1xAoI)

Azad Elford Field Earl-Williams
Lord Ampthill Hart
Bird Hughes
Browne Jenkins
Douart Saint

Overview and Scrutiny Committee – 12 Members

(Option A - 9xC, 1xLD, 1xAoI, 1 Independent Member) (Option B - 10xC, 1xLD, 1xAoI)

	<u>C</u>		LD	<u>Aol</u>	IND Member
J Barnes	Elliston	Potts	Prochak	Earl	Clark
Browne	George	Stevens			(Option A)
Curtis	Osborne				
Elford	(less 1 sea	at Option A)			

Dr Anthony Leonard Executive Director of Business Operations