## **Rother District Council**

Agenda Item: 10

Report to - Council

Date - 17 December 2018

Report of the - Executive Director

Subject - Political Groups and By-Election

### Recommendation: It be RESOLVED: That:

1) the revised political make-up of the Council be noted and the consequential appointment of Members on the Committees be agreed as set out below; and

2) the Executive Director be granted delegated authority to undertake a review of the allocation of committee seats following the Bexhill St Marks Ward byelection and to agree any necessary adjustments and appointments of Members to committee seats in accordance with the relevant Group Leaders' wishes.

#### Introduction

1. Since the Council's last meeting there has been a change to the political makeup of the Council and a vacancy has arisen following the death of Councillor Stuart Earl. This report advises Council on the consequential matters.

## **Political Groups**

- 2. On the 2 November 2018, Councillor Ian Jenkins gave formal notice of his wish to join the Association of Independents (AoI) with immediate effect. Any change in political make-up of the Council triggers a review of the allocation of committee seats in accordance with the proportional representation requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.
- 3. The membership of the Political Groups on the Council is now confirmed as follows:

Group	Seats
Conservative	30
Liberal Democrats	3
Association of Independents	3
Non Group Member	1
Vacancy (Bexhill St Marks Ward)	1

4. With regard to the current vacant seat, it is usual practice to assume that the Group currently holding the vacant seat will retain the seat at a subsequent by-election for the purposes of calculating committee seat allocation in the intervening period. The political strengths on the Council, taken into account for the revised allocation calculations are therefore Conservative 30; Association of Independents 4; Liberal Democrat 3; Non-Group Member 1.

- 5. Following the calculations of the allocation of committee seats, it is confirmed that the AoI gain one seat on the Planning Committee and the Conservatives lose one seat on the Planning Committee. The allocation of committee seats to each political group remains the same for all other committees.
- 6. Consequently, following Councillor Jenkins' move to the AoI, and in consultation with the Group Leaders, there is a consequential re-shuffle of Members appointed to Committees as follows:

#### **Audit and Standards Committee**

Councillor I.G.F. Jenkins to remain ON as an Aol Member. Conservative Member to be confirmed.

## **Licensing and General Purposes Committee**

Councillor I.G.F. Jenkins OFF.
Conservative Member to be confirmed.

## **Overview and Scrutiny Committee**

Councillor Mrs D Earl-Williams ON as an Aol Member.

## **Planning Committee**

Councillor D.B. Oliver to be appointed as an Aol Member. One Conservative Member to come OFF - to be confirmed.

Membership of the Committees is confirmed as follows:

### **Audit and Standards Committee**

Councillors J. Barnes, R.K. Bird, R.C. Carroll, **G.C. Curtis (Chairman)**, K.P. Dixon, S.D. Elford and I.G.F Jenkins. (+ 1 Conservative Member)

### **Licensing and General Purposes Committee**

Councillors Lord Ampthill, A.K. Azad, R.K. Bird, G.S. Browne, P.R. Douart, Mrs. D.C. Earl-Williams, S.D. Elford, K.M. Field, Mrs S. Hart, **Mrs J.M. Hughes** (Vice-Chairman), J.M. Johnson (ex-officio) and C.J. Saint (Chairman). (+ 1 Conservative Member)

### **Overview and Scrutiny Committee**

Councillors J. Barnes, G.S. Browne, C.A. Clark, Mrs D.C. Earl-Williams, S.D. Elford, R.V. Elliston, J.M. Johnson (ex-officio), **M. Mooney (Vice-Chairman)**, **P.N. Osborne (Chairman)**, J. Potts, Mrs S.M. Prochak, G.F. Stevens and M.R Watson.

#### Planning Committee

Councillors A.K. Azad, **Mrs M.L. Barnes (Vice-Chairman)**, G.C. Curtis, P.R. Douart, Mrs D.C. Earl-Williams, R.V. Elliston, A.E. Ganly, T.W. Graham, Mrs B.A. Hollingsworth, Mrs J.M. Hughes, J.M. Johnson (ex-officio), **B. Kentfield (Chairman)**, D.B. Oliver, Mrs S.M. Prochak, G.F. Stevens and M.R. Watson. (+ 1 Conservative Member to come OFF)

# **By-Election**

7. The by-election for Bexhill St Marks Ward is scheduled to take place on Thursday 10 January 2019, the results of which will be formally reported to the Council meeting in February.

8. In order to ensure that the in-coming Councillor is swiftly allocated committee seats, it is requested that Council gives delegated authority to the Executive Director to undertake a review of the allocation of committee seats following the by-election and agree any necessary adjustments and appointments of Members to committee seats in accordance with the relevant Group Leaders' wishes.

Malcolm Johnston Executive Director

#### **Risk Assessment Statement**

Failure to undertake a review of the allocation of committee seats following a change in political make-up would place the Council in breach of the proportional representation requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.