Agenda Item: 11

### **COUNCIL MEETING**

25 February 2019

# BEXHILL ST MARKS WARD BY-ELECTION – 10 JANUARY 2019

## REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR & RETURNING OFFICER

1. I have to report the result of the by-election held on Thursday, 10 January 2019 to elect a District Councillor for the vacant Bexhill St Marks seat.

## **Bexhill St Marks**

FORTE, Gino (Con)	521	
HARMER, Kathy (Independent)	1,000	<b>ELECTED</b>
WALKER, John Brian George (Lab)	79	
ZIPSER, John Kamil (UKIP)	48	

Turnout = 43% Postal Vote Return = 69%

- 2. Following the election I have also to report that:
  - (i) Councillor Kathy Harmer has given formal notice of her wish to join the Association of Independents' Political Group;
  - (ii) The revised membership of Political Groups as at 11 January is as follows:

Conservative	30
Association of Independents	4
Liberal Democrat	3
1 non-group Member	1
	<u>38</u>

- (iii) In accordance with my delegated authority to undertake a review of the allocation of committee seats following this by-election, I can confirm that as the Independent Group has retained the vacant seat there are no changes to be made as the previous calculation was based on that assumption.
- (iv) The Leader of the Association of Independents has confirmed that there will be no changes to the appointment of Councillors to committee seats as agreed by Council in December 2018; Councillor Harmer will not be appointed to any committee at this stage.

#### **RESIGNATION OF COUNCILLOR T.W. GRAHAM**

3. On the 14 January 2019, Councillor T.W. Graham formally resigned as an elected Member for Bexhill St Marks Ward.

- 4. Whilst I am legally bound to advertise the vacancy, as it has occurred in the six months before the date on which Councillor Graham would have ordinarily retired, an election will not be held. The vacancy will therefore be held over until the next ordinary all-out elections on 2 May 2019.
- 5. The revised membership of Political Groups as at 14 January is therefore as follows:

Conservative	29
Association of Independents	4
Liberal Democrat	3
1 non-group Member	1
1 vacancy (Bexhill St Marks)	1
	<u>38</u>

Malcolm Johnston Executive Director and Returning Officer